Faculty and Volunteer Advisors

Parag Agnihotri, MDParag Agnihotri

Medical Director, Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Group;
Co-founder, Cap Region UBP



José A. Arévalo, MDJose Arevalo

Chief Medical Officer, Sutter Independent Physicians; Former Chairman, Right Care Initiative Capital Region UBP



Warren Barnes, JD, M.Div.Warren Barnes

Retired Chief Lawyer, California Department of Managed Health Care; Minister; Co-founder, Right Care Initiative



William J. Bommer, MDWilliam (Bill) Bommer

Executive Committee, American College of Cardiology, CA Chapter; Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and Director, Noninvasive Services, UC Davis; Chairman, Right Care Capital Region University of Best Practices.



Matthew Budoff, MDMatthew Budoff

Professor of Medicine, UCLA; Endowed Chair of Preventive Cardiology; Program Director, Division of Cardiology Los Angeles Biomedical Research Institute; Steering Committee Member, Director CT Reading Center, Multi-Ethnic Study of Atherosclerosis (MESA) Trial


Steven Chen, PharmDSteve Chen

Associate Dean USC School of Pharmacy



Rebecca Cupp, RPhRebecca Cupp

Retired Air Force Officer,
Executive Director Medication Quality and Patient Safety, Kaiser National



Anthony N. DeMaria, MD, MACCAnthony D. DeMaria

Judith and Jack White Chair in Cardiology, UC San Diego School of Medicine ; Be There San Diego Co-Founder and Chairman



Victoria DupuyVictoria Dupuy

Founder & Executive Director, No More Broken Hearts




Keith Emmons, MDKeith Emmons

Co-chair, Right Care Initiative Heart Failure Work Group;
Retired United Health Plan Medical Director





Scott Flinn, MDScott Flinn [Updated 8.31.18]

Regional Medical Director, Blue Shield of California
Former Co-chair Right Care San Diego UBP; Retired Navy Medical Officer




Shannon FoxShannon Fox

Dornbrach Family Advocate




Cindy Giambrone, PharmDCindy Giambrone

Co-Chair, Right Care Initiative Heart Failure Work Group;
Memorial Care




Liz Helms

President/CEO, California Chronic Care Coalition




Jan Hirsch, BSPharm., PhD, FNAPJan Hirsch

Professor of Clinical Pharmacy Chair, Division of Clinical Pharmacy; Executive Director, Partners in Medication Therapy, University of California, San Diego; Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences



Susan L. Ivey, MD, MHSADr. Susan Ivey [Updated 8.27.18]

Associate Adjunct Professor, UCB-UCSF Joint Medical Program
Director of Research, Health Research for Action
UC Berkeley School of Public Health





Michael Kanter, MDMichael Kanter

National EVP and Chief Quality Officer, Kaiser Permanente Federation; and Regional CMO, So. Cal Kaiser



Jean Shahdadpuri, MD, MBAJean Shahdadpuri [Updated 8.31.18]

Vice President, Senior Medical Director, Health Net Of California




Tony Kuo, MD, MSHSTony Kuo

Co-Chair, Right Care UBP, Los Angeles; Director, Division of Chronic Disease and Injury Prevention, Los Angeles County Department of Public Health; Co-Program Leader, Population Health Program, UCLA Clinical and Translational Science Institute




David J. Maron, MDDavid J. Maron

Director of Preventative Cardiology, Clinical Professor, Stanford University School of Medicine




Jeff Mason, MDJeff Mason

Retired, CMO United Health Plan of CA




Michael R. PollockMichael R. Pollock

UCSD Rady School of Management




Hector Rodriguez, PhD, MPH

Henry J. Kaiser Endowed Chair in Organized Health Systems;
Professor, Division of Health Policy and Management
Chair, PhD Program in Health Policy;
Co-Director, Center for Healthcare Organizational and Innovation Research (CHOIR)



Stephen M. Shortell, PhD, MPH, MBA

Blue Cross of California Distinguished Professor, Health Policy and Management
Professor of Organization Behavior
Director, Center for Health Organization and Outcomes Improvement Research (CHOIR)
Dean Emeritus
UC Berkeley School of Public Health



Joseph Sky, MDJoseph Sky

LtCol, Chief or Cardiology, David Grant Medical Center, United States Air Force





Chuck Toeniskoetter, MBAChuck Toeniskoetter

Survivor & Patient Advocate; Founder, Stroke Awareness Foundation




Nirali Vora, MDNirali Vora

Clinical Assistant Professor, Neurology, Stanford Stroke Center, Director, Global Health Neurology Associate Program Director, Adult Neurology Residency




Matthew P. Wonnacott, MDMatthew P. Wonnacott

Co-chair, Right Care UBP, Cap Region; Medical Director, Barton Community Health Center




Last Updated: 10.29.18